Maurovich, Sirhan and Edghill headline at annual Athletics Celebration

Harrison Maurovich 2019, who has led Selwyn House in football, basketball and rugby throughout his five years at the school, headlined this year’s class of major award winners at the annual Athletics Celebration on Thursday, May 30th.

Taking home the McMaster Memorial Sportsman’s Cup as the Senior School athlete of the year, he built up an array of hardware throughout the night with MVP awards in football and basketball, as well as an award in rugby.

He was joined by the Cassils Memorial Trophy winner, honouring the Middle School athlete of the year, Ramy Sirhan 2022, and The Alumni Award recipient Jaeden Edghill 2021, who was named the top athlete in grade 9.

Two other graduating students, Sean Sowden and Christophe Charbonneau (both class of 2019), also received major honours.

Sowden picked up the Comeback Award, given to the student-athlete who makes an exceptional recovery from injury to return to a high level of performance. Sean broke both of his thumbs during the football season, and returned to play key roles on the Juvenile Division 3 hockey team and the Juvenile rugby team.

Charbonneau was named the recipient of the Athletics Department Award for his outstanding contribution to the school’s basketball program as a rare student-coach. Christophe volunteered a tremendous amount of time at the Bantam team’s practices, games, tournaments and even study halls, while also competing as a starter on the Juvenile Division 2 basketball team.

The David Tobias Memorial Trophy, recognizing the team of the year, was awarded to the aforementioned Bantam basketball team, which won the CAIS U13 national tournament in Okotoks, Alberta. The team was a finalist in GMAA Division 2 action after a dominant regular season.

Capping off the night was the induction of the annual Sportsmans’ Guild class. This year saw two grade 10 students come into the Guild, Carl Heidemann and William Sebag (both class of 2020), along with nine grade 11 students: Harrison Maurovich (re-elected), Hunter Bériault, Kaylan Bruno, Alexei Dikranian, Alexandre Latkovski , Ian Mahutte, William Robinson, Colin Rolph and Sean Sowden. The Guild class was rounded out with the addition of three staff members: Catherine Lumsden, Sophie Drisdelle and Matt Pickrell.

Link to Photos