Fifty-four receive Duke of Ed Awards

On May 22, Courtney Prieur, Selwyn House Director of Experiential Education, presented certificates to 54 Senior School students in recognition of their participation in the Duke Of Edinburgh’s Award program.
Recipients must complete three levels: Bronze, Silver and Gold. Each level requires training, achievement, and recognition in the basics of good citizenship. Duke of Ed activities embrace a wide variety of interests, including physical activities, educational training, self-discipline, and service to the community—all designed to advance the physical, mental and spiritual welfare of young people.
To receive the award, participants must set goals in four program areas, which are:
• Community Service – Providing volunteer service to others and the community.
• Personal Skill Development – Developing a personal interest, social or practical skill.
• Physical Recreation – Gaining a sense of achievement and good health through physical fitness activities and sports.
• Adventurous Journey – Undertaking a wilderness or adventure experience.
The following students won the Bronze Award in Grade 9: George Adamopoulos, Matt Azoula, Guillaume Charbonneau, Dean Farias, Michael Feldman, Aidan Gertler, Eli Grant, Matthew Homa, Jack Ladenheim, Anthony Lightfoot, Markus Lulic Descheneaux, Dylan Lee, Hanan Merims-Zlate, Max Mitelman, George Pitsas, Thomas Plamondon, Max Steinberg and Sean Vinh.

The following Grade 10 students won the Bronze Award: Andrea Accurso, Trevor Aitken, Sultan Al-Sudairy, Matthison Avedesian, Isaac Cape, Michael Carrara, Adriano Cecere, Nahshon Da Silva, Alexis Delplace, Christopher Denham, Tomas Dubroca, Carl Heidemann, Victor Jamet-Larsen, Daniel Kalichman, Blake Kastner, Ben Katz, Keon Khiabani, Alessandro Lecavalier, Alessandro Lorenzetti, Marcus Lynch, Dylan Merovitz, Nicholas Moukas, Jonah Rosen, Dylan Silver, Enoch Tamale and Harris Woodward.

In Grade 10 winning the Silver Award were: Oscar McCavour and Rory Krnjevic.

Kyle Zitzmann won the Bronze Award for Grade 11.

Grade 11 students winning the Silver Award were: Lorenzo Accurso, Justin Belland, Peter Beltekas, Joshua Feldman, Israel Leon-Dial, Stanford Li and William Robinson.